FIM's Continental Union
for Motorcycling in Africa



Posted on September 4, 2017 at 4:20 AM

GAUTENG – The sixth round of the Monster Energy TRP Distributors SA MX National Championship saw the competitors return to Holeshot Harries in Harrismith. Despite some heavy winds the two days before the event, the sun was out and the weather played along for a superb race day. The club did a great job once again hosting approximately 180 competitors for both the National and Northern Regions MX Championship.

Everyone anticipated excellent racing and also the possibility of some championships to be wrapped up but the event concluded with every single one of the championships having to wait for the Round 7 Final at Terra Topia on the 14th October. We are in for an incredible racing spectacle to end off the 2017 season.

In the Premier MX1 class Tintswalo Out of Africa Yamaha’s David Goosen put in two solid performances getting a 1-2 for first overall but it was GAC Laser Ace Sports’ Anthony Raynard that stole the show in the second heat taking the 4-1 for the day sealing his second overall position. Husqvarna Racing’s Richard van der Westhuizen continued his consistent racing with a 2-3 for third overall and despite the intense battles taking place, Tintswalo Out of Africa’s Yamaha’s Tristan Purdon has not given up his fight and retains his points lead going into the final round after a 3-4 for fourth overall for the day. This leaves the points standings close enough that spectators are guaranteed one of the most intense battles for a Premier Championship we have seen in years at the final in October.

In the Premier MX2 class, the day belonged to GAC Laser Ace Sports’ Anthony Raynard, crowning off a memorable racing day for him as he took a 1-2 for first overall with Tintswalo Out of Africa Yamaha’s David Goosen taking a consistent 2-3 for second overall and retaining the points lead. We saw Red Bull KTM’s Kerim Fitz-Gerald win back a third overall after a 7-1 performance, ending the day with a great finish after a tough start to the day. Many commented that the racing in this class was the best they had seen all year with the top 4 riders within a bike length of each other. Undoubtedly this is another class that will not disappoint at Terra Topia.

Round 7 heads to Johannesburg and will take place at Terra Topia, Northern Farms, Diepsloot on 14 October.

Other results from the day


1. Neil van der Vyver

2. Jordan van Wyk

3. Liam Botha


1. Daiyaan Manuel

2. Troy Muraour

3. Lucca Mynhardt

85cc Juniors

1. Hayden Tully

2. Blake Young

3. Dylan Kirk

Pro Mini

1. Camden Mc Lellan

2. Davin Cocker

3. Miguel de Waal

High School

1. Cameron Durow

2. Regan Wasmuth

3. Slade Smith


1. Leah Heygate

2. Nanda Clowes

3. Kayla Raaff


1. Ian Topliss

2. Brett Bircher

3. Kevin Moran

The series is sanctioned by Motorsport South Africa (MSA) and promoted by Motocross South Africa (MX SA).

The championship is proudly sponsored by:

  • Monster Energy and TRP Distributors.
  • Thor, Bridgestone, FMF and Gaerne.
  • Motul, EVS Sports and Just 1 Helmets.
  • Fly Racing, 100%, DC Shoes, Racestar Graffix, Sunoco Race Shop and Pac-Rite .

Published by Motocross South Africa

Categories: FMN News South Africa

Post a Comment


Oops, you forgot something.


The words you entered did not match the given text. Please try again.

Already a member? Sign In