FIM's Continental Union
for Motorcycling in Africa



Posted on April 9, 2018 at 4:45 AM

PIETERMARITZBURG 2018 - The news coming in from Pietermaritzburg ahead of the National was that the storms were coming through regularly and that the track was flooded. Getting machinery on to work the track was done in the small intervals that the sun handed them inbetween but the rest of the time it was virtually impossible.

The scene on Thursday afternoon was nothing short of a mud bath. In true KZN fashion though, the blistering sun came out on Friday and the track started to shape up. Slowly and carefully the team worked to ensure that come saturday morning we were ready for racing. One thing was certain, the track was going to get rough and the racing would be tough.

Despite this, in the Premier MX1 Class, it was hometown favourite and Q 4 Fuel Husqvarna Racing's Matthew (Maddy) Malan that made the challenging track look easy. He also showed us that his injury from last year was now long behind him and he was back on form so after a rocky start to 2018 in PE, a solid day out in Pietermaritzburg paid off and he took 1-1 for the overall.

His team mate Caleb Tennant got 2-2 and earned a second overall after another consitent performance and hangs onto the points lead and the red plate.

Tintswalo Out of Africa's Yamaha's David Goosen had a great day in the saddle and 4-3 earned him third overall for the day.

In the Premier MX2 class, it was Maddy Malan again that was a cut above the rest. A 1-2 earned him the top spot for the day and the points lead heading into Round 3 in Bloemfontein.

Maddy however faced a different kind of challenge in MX2 and David Goosen came back hard in heat 2 to take the win. His 4-1 earned him second overall for the day.

After a tough day at the office for KTM, Red Bull KTM's Kerim Fitz-Gerald earned third overall with his 5-3 finishes. The resuts in this class in each heat is like a mixed bag and all bets will be off once again as we head to Bloemfontein on 19 May.

In other classes the wins went to Brett Bircher MX3, Leah Heygate for Ladies, Justin Sangster for High School, Camden Mc Lellan for Pro Mini, Troy Muraour in 85cc Juniors, Lucca Mynhardt in 65cc and Jack Pullen in 50cc.

Published by: Michelle Smith - Motocross South Africa

Photography by: Eric Palmer

Categories: FMN News South Africa

Post a Comment


Oops, you forgot something.


The words you entered did not match the given text. Please try again.

Already a member? Sign In